PDA

View Full Version : Winter is here! (II)

Miko
11-24-2007, 07:40 AM
Finally I had time to go ahead with my winter - landscape. I began with painting the shadow - and it was a mistake! That will remain the weakest part of that painting. I never painted a shadow of this size before - so you see I'm still learning.
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/24-Nov-2007/112879-CIMG1009.JPG

A very thin layer of French Ultramarine and Burnt Sienna made it less painful to the eyes (at least I think so).On my reference - photo (I took it last winter) I can see a lot of smaller and bigger deepenings in the snow - and of course I had no idea how to paint them and how many. But on CharM's Homepage (great paintings - I love that "Snowman"!) I found a painting which was a great help for me. So I could find a way that worked.
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/24-Nov-2007/112879-CIMG1013.JPG
Well - I think it's almost finished. I think I should add some details like dry blades of grass.
What I find strange is: The more I paint the less content I am with my results.
Although I still struggle with them: I begin to find the world of shadows fantastic and very interesting!
Will - time to submit my thread.
I am very open for ALL kinds of critique!
Gerhard

gemineye
11-24-2007, 02:40 PM
This is looking great!! The shadows of the impressions in the snow are very well done. Love the snow on the logs, and the trees on the horizon.
The only thing that bothers me in this is that the big shadow and the shadows under the logs are not the same color. I think I would be tempted to wet the shadows under the logs, lift a little color, and put some blue in there. This will create more unity in the shadow colors.
I really like this piece very much...your shadow work is really super!

Miko
11-24-2007, 02:54 PM
Sorry, Trancy! Under the logs it is not snow - on my reference photos on those places there is green grass. But you are right: With these parts of my work I'm not really happy.