GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Untitled
Year Created: 2007
Medium: Oil
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 18X24
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
This is my first time posting here and I am normally hesitant to show any of my art but I would like to grow as an artist which means that I need to share. This is the first painting that I primed the canvas gray and then worked in black and white before using a limited selection of colours.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
I usually feel that I over work the medium and anything nice that I had is lost in my brushwork. I made an effort to be much more loose. I'm just looking for some thoughts for future refrence.

Dante!!!
11-23-2007, 01:56 PM
I should also add that a major inspiration was Mucha. I wasn;t making a refrence to any specific work but was trying to envoke the spirt of his work.

La_
11-23-2007, 02:02 PM
peaceful, sad, soothing, curious

would definitely like to see more of your works

why the butt icon? i see no nudity

Welcome to WC! take yer time, look around, wonderful diversity here!

and Dante!!!, have you read Dante?! glorious works from him

: )

la

Dante!!!
11-23-2007, 02:19 PM
I put that nudity Icon on there becasue I wasn't sure how strict the image policy is. I know some people have comented to me that the water lilly looks like something else but I didin't want my first post removed on account of a misunderstanding.

kathrynlovespets
11-23-2007, 07:26 PM
this is not a happy painting...
very desperate and uncomfortable (is how that creature feels)

and i think it's only the overtly obvious nudity that requires the butt icon

MRSBB
11-23-2007, 08:04 PM
My first impression was of a child in the womb, but I agree with Kate, not very happy. Like OMG, what is this world all about....Anyway, welcome to Wet Canvas. The knowledge and help here is really great, I love this site...........Lenore

thomas w
11-24-2007, 11:40 AM