PDA

View Full Version : any lessons in using a blending medium with acrylics?

ocho
06-09-2002, 06:18 PM
Does anyone know where I can get some information on blending with acrylic color. I am taking a course with a career art institute. And I am on pastels. But I have to paint an undercolor painting with acrylics and I am experimenting with a blending medium for acylics. I have the painting. I guess it will work better when I start applying the pastels.

Is there a lesson using a blending medium with acrylic colors, so I can see what I am doing?

TheLymner
06-09-2002, 09:04 PM
ocho, I have no experience in using acrylic blenders for I use acrylics more like a tempera or, if you will, a "liquid pastel." When working I will mix up several values of the hue I am working with and and apply them in gradually lighter or darker values as necessary. Since I want them to dry as quickly as possible I will use a small fan or a hair dryer on low to accelerate their drying time. Also, I do any blending with my fingers or a large stumple which I have dipped into acrylic and allowed to dry in order to seal it. Hope this is of assistance.

Danny E Haislet
TheLymner

dspinks
06-09-2002, 09:54 PM
I add matte or gloss medium to acrylics to thin them slightly. It helps the paint go on more smoothly and in thinner layers and makes blending easier. I use a ratio of about 1:4 medium to paint, but that can vary depending on the viscosity of the particular color. In a higher ratio, it also help make translucent, watercolor-like effects or glazes. It is better than adding lots of water as water breaks up the color but medium just thins it out. I mist my paints with water just enough to keep them moist, not to thin them.
Debra

KarenU
06-10-2002, 01:44 AM