PDA

View Full Version : Help me finish this portrait of my niece!

mjmell
11-15-2007, 11:10 PM
Hi Everyone!
I have been loving reading all the great posts on here and watching along the WIPs, learning tons.

You have inspired me to pick up an old project of mine! So now I am turning to all of you artists for some help! I am an amateur watercolorist, returning to painting after almost 20 years. I started this particular painting of my niece when she was a little girl, and now she just got married! So I am trying to finish it! But I am stuck. I was excited because it was the first portrait I ever tried, and I was happy with her face. BUT I am terrible at backgrounds.

I can't figure out how to fix the background to make it recede but still look like trees/bushes... AND I can't figure out how to downplay the wood plank while still giving it the texture that it needs. The greens are all muddy and overworked. I need some help because this painting is very precious to me, but I am afraid I will mess it up more. Unfortunately, this was done when I was a poor student and I used crappy paper so it's not very forgiving (believe me I scratched out lots already -- her barrette; the hand that I accidentally painted the steel rod over, duh! but I had to use some white opaque paint for some of my boo -boos, they were that bad. (I know, that's cheating....)

It is done on Strathmore 400, 13"x17". I used grumbacher paints mostly. The greens on my palette are sap green, olive green, hookers lt, and thalo-yellow green, and viridian... so that is probably what I used... I was going for the dappled sunlight look but missed the mark. :)

Any ideas how to rescue this painting? I'd like to give it to her before another 20 years passes!

Thanks so much!
-Mary Jane

original photo:
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/15-Nov-2007/108157-andrea_little_girl_photo_396x600.jpg

Painting in progress:

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/15-Nov-2007/108157-andrea_painting_400x600.jpg