PDA

View Full Version : My fourth pastel...

Peiwend
11-12-2007, 11:49 PM
Hi, I'm an oil painter and just started doing some pastels. Here is my fourth one:

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/12-Nov-2007/115097-wetcanvas.jpg

The dimensions are 10" x 20" and it was done on Alpharag matboard primed with Colourfix Soft Umber. It was done mainly with Rembrandt pastels along with some Unisons. I used some photos I had taken in August, near where I live on Prince Edward Island, as reference.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank all of you for what I learned about pastels from reading Wet Canvas and would welcome any comments and suggestions.

Soon, I will be placing another order from Dick Blick and would like to ask for your suggestions for a few new colours. In medium soft pastels I need more greens, especially a good really dark green as the only one I have is an antique Girault (Yeah, I'm that guy.). I also need a good opaque yellow-orange similar to cadmium yellow deep. Since I live far from any well stocked art supply store, it is difficult to have to choose from the online colour charts.

_______________________Wendell

Deborah Secor
11-13-2007, 12:02 AM
Wendell, this has a wonderful sense of air to it. It breathes atmosphere! Beautifully done--and a really beautiful place, too.

Deborah

Netty
11-13-2007, 12:05 AM
Gorgeous Wendell!!! it actually looks like an oil painting....lol....
Your distance is lovely, creates great atmoshpere .

Beautiful cottage set in the trees, and once again the distance is great as I do feel I can reach out and almost pick some of the flowers in the forground.

Very pretty...

Annie:)

mrking
11-13-2007, 12:30 AM
Ummm, wow.

Your skills as an oil painter really shine through.

Unison and Terry Ludwig have beautiful sets of darks.

water girl
11-13-2007, 12:42 AM
This is just wonderful. I thought at first that it was an oil painting. I'm hoping that you'll continue to work in pastel and keep posting.