PDA

View Full Version : Christmas Rose_ Christmas Card ? WIP

MLight
11-10-2007, 12:29 AM
Thanks to all who encouraged me to do this WIP. I've never done one before and I'm very hesitant about how all of this will turn out.
One of my biggest concerns........I'm recovering from a cervical fusion and am in a hard collar- neck brace. I have my good days and my bad days so this WIP may take longer than most but I do hope to get it accomplished.
So.here goes, my subject. A ref photo of a Christmas Rose. I LOVE Christmas and I LOVE Roses so I chose this reference photo for my first WIP:
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/09-Nov-2007/89235-ref.jpg
After some discussion in the learning zone, I decided to add a more "Christmasy" look to this since my ultimate goal is a Christmas Card. So, I added some holly leaves:
Here's my line drawing:
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/09-Nov-2007/89235-ChRoselinedwg.jpg
I WOULD LIKE TO HAVE ANY COMMENTS ON THE COMPOSITION, Please.

The orange color is my masking fluid - where I masked off the stamens.
I plan to make some of the holly leaves "dissappear" into the background. negative painting?. - We'll wait and see how and if that happens. :lol:
This is my chosen color palette...a bit strange as I've never seen Opera used as a primary red:
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/09-Nov-2007/89235-ChRosepalette.jpg I chose Opera for its "pinkish" color, as the white Christmas rose matures, it turns to pink. I may have to dull the color as it is truly "bright".
Here's my color ananysis:
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/09-Nov-2007/89235-colors.jpg
This may end up beng a total flop.. nothing ventured, nothing gained.
I'll just try it and see what happens next.:eek:
Until next time:
ML

Yorky
11-10-2007, 04:23 AM
What a wonderful reference and a great start Michelle.

Christmas Roses were always a feature of our Christmas table until we lost them last year.

Doug

painterbear
11-10-2007, 05:50 AM
Hi ML,