GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Youth
Year Created: 2007
Medium: Acrylic
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 5x7
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
This is supposed to be a self portrait from many moons ago. In the photograph I was 19 or younger, I seemed to have aged myself in the painting some.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
Anything and everything that could help me. I'm a little too close to my subject matter--even though the girl in the picture is miles away....

tony1
10-18-2007, 04:27 PM
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/18-Oct-2007/82936-untitled.GIF

First this is a nice painting, very wll done. Second I'm not a portrait painter, but one thing did catch my eye, your upper lip is fuller in the painting. I tried a crude adjustment as to what I'm talking about.

I may be wrong, but that's what I see.

Anyway, great work.

horsthh
10-18-2007, 05:11 PM
I am a student myself, and I constantly hear the teacher say: Soften the edges, eyebrows, mouth and nose, very nice done.
Horst

Ms.Understood
10-18-2007, 05:15 PM
First this is a nice painting, very wll done. Second I'm not a portrait painter, but one thing did catch my eye, your upper lip is fuller in the painting. I tried a crude adjustment as to what I'm talking about.

I may be wrong, but that's what I see.

Anyway, great work.

Thank-you--and I DO see that.

Ms.Understood
10-18-2007, 05:18 PM
Soften the edges, eyebrows, mouth and nose, very nice done.
Horst
I think that'd probably help too--the photograph is such a soft focus, and I wanted a bit more contrast.

I should have gone with a larger size canvas--every mark this small is SO significant.

Candices_Creations
10-18-2007, 05:24 PM
Very pretty portrait ! I think in the photo, your face was a little rounder..I think you "aged" gracefully! I didn't notice the size of the canvas until you commented...wow, even more of a challenge..love the eyes. Thanks for sharing your work!

Ms.Understood
10-18-2007, 05:28 PM