PDA

View Full Version : Lana's Manatee

lhoxie
10-12-2007, 05:54 PM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/10-12-2007/119115_Lanas_Manatee.jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Lana's Manatee
Year Created: 2007
Medium: Watercolor
Surface: Paper
Dimension: 10 x 13
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
Okay, taking a deep breath as I submit my first painting for critique. Please keep in mind that I just started painting with watercolor in late August or Early September and this is my 7th painting to date.<br><br>The photo that inspired this painting was very gray and green, very dull color's so I have added some light play and color to it.<br><br>The imperfections that I see are the rays of light shining through the water, they tend to bend below the manatee, and I carried them to far upward because the light source should only shine one direction.<br><br>Some of the lines in the manatee himself seem too hard, he is not as lifelike as I would like.<br><br>

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
I would love your input on how I can improve.<br><br>

Slurps
10-12-2007, 06:18 PM
Composition is too crowded. Needs some space on at least two sides. The manatee itself looks like you started off with a foreshortened oblique view and then committed to a lateral, broadside view, resulting in an animal that's not proportioned properly. The curved down tail looks like an accommodation for running out of room in the bottom left corner.

That being said, I love the palette you've chosen. I can live with the bent shafts of light in the water, but I question the bubbles around the flipper. Why would a submerged animal generate bubbles anywhere but near its muzzle?

I also like the suggestion of the myriad propeller slashes on its back. These creatures are routinely injured by props, jet skis, water skis, etc., although some of the markings on their backs are from natural causes.