PDA

View Full Version : Family Holiday (novice artist)

YoungMum
10-07-2007, 12:44 AM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/10-06-2007/118083_holiday.jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Family Holiday (novice artist)
Year Created: 2007
Medium: Acrylic
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 50cm x 60cm
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
This is an example showing my my current skill (or lack of). I know that is rather cartoon-ish but it is my best painting to date. I am unschool in art and am teaching myself by reading and practising. I can only improve!

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
Be honest, but gentle! I'm an amateur! I know I have a lot of areas I need to work on, any practical advice from artists would be greatly appreciated.

Slurps
10-07-2007, 03:14 AM
You have a great intuitive sense for how shade and shadows behave. I love the touch of the tree's shadow on the wall of the house. I'd like to see you bring the eaves on the right side of the house out just a bit to make your shadow there more convincing, and play a little more with defining the leaves in the tree. Perhaps darken the windows a bit to suggest more of the interior light's contrast with the bright day outside.
Nice job!

Dana Design
10-07-2007, 11:36 AM
Good comments and advice from Slurps! I'd also darken the siding of the house a bit under the porch as well as the porch floor...and take the question mark out of the window.

Corby
10-07-2007, 03:04 PM