PDA

View Full Version : Trees

Young_Artist
09-28-2007, 01:26 PM
I'm new to Acrylic painting and i've painted some stuff, but not an actual painting, i'll post one as soon as i make a full one but first i want to know if anyone has any tips on making Decideous Trees, the kind with leaves and foilage of other types. I can make evergreens, fields, water and water reflections but i'm not that good as regular trees. So can anyone offer any help?:confused:

catsrock!
09-28-2007, 03:16 PM
There is not a ''recipe'' for painting trees (or anything for that matter). You have to look at the shapes, squint, or turn your reference photo upside down to help see the basic lines. As for colors you have to expierment and find your favorite combinations ( Having a warm and cool of each of the primaries, white, and a few neutrals can get you a large amount of results). Hope that helps!

Sincerely,

James C.

dreamz
09-28-2007, 06:55 PM
Young, A few weeks ago I did a very basic tutorial on trees, (click my name above and go to profile then click recently threads I started) there are also a number of tutorials in search, just type in tree tutorial. Often even the ones that don't pertain to acyrlics can be adapted

Basically I use an adapted Bob Ross method. I lay down my basic tree shape, then use a brush with multipul colors to bring out the bark feel. The foliage can be applied with either a natural sponge thats been tapped almost dry on a seperate paper or a large brush (I like a 2") dab into the color of choice than smash it hard a few times on a seperate sheet of paper to spread the bristles some then lightlky tap onto your canvas. With either applicator you can use several colors at once to help add depth and light. Both techniques let you quickly add in foliage and still leaves lots of holes for the birds to fly thru and the sky to peek thru
(http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=440479)

edtree
09-29-2007, 08:13 AM
:wave: Hi Young Artist!