PDA

View Full Version : First post, White Kitten

SBWilson
09-25-2007, 01:49 AM
Hi everyone, my name is Sue, from Ontario, Canada. This is my first time posting. I have no formal art training so this site is proving to be a blessing.

I'd like to share this piece I've been working on. I can't remember for sure, but I believe I got the original photo from the RIL, my apologies for not paying more attention to who it was that submitted the photo, but thank you, he's been a blast. Windsor & Newton on 12" x 9", 140lb coldpressed Cotman Water Colour Block.

The photo reduces the depth of the colour in the piece in front of me, bad lighting. Comments, critiques and insights are welcomed and appreciated.

Thanks, Sue.http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/25-Sep-2007/115887-cat2.JPG
The Original photo

.........aaaand, what I got from it ;)
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/25-Sep-2007/115887-white_kitten.jpg
...I'll see if I can't get a better pic of it tomorrow :)

painterbear
09-25-2007, 06:02 AM
Hi Sue,
Welcome to the Watercolor Forum and congratulations on your first painting post.

Your little kitten is so sweet. I like the way you've cropped the photo and painted the kitty. I think he looks better than in the photo.

The only suggestion I would make is to carry some of the purple in the background over to the right side but much lighter.

I like how you have his paws sticking out around the frame of the background. That's different and clever.

Sylvia

mgiedd
09-25-2007, 06:40 AM
He is so adorable. I really commend u for your painting. In white, no less. Good job!

Doug Gulley
09-25-2007, 07:55 AM
Nice I look forward to seeing your next posting.

Doug

Yorky
09-25-2007, 11:54 AM
Nice composition Sue, welcome to the forum. Check out the links in my signature for classes, demos and information.

Doug

SBWilson
09-25-2007, 08:47 PM