PDA

View Full Version : Some interesting acrylic artists to share?


Nilesh
09-13-2007, 08:46 PM
Here are a few that I have come across,

http://www.danatorrey.com/torrey2/paintingsofafrica.html

http://www.danatorrey.com/torrey2/paintingsoflosangeles.html

[I appreciate this in part because it helps me to tune into the feeling that acrylics are *absolutely fine*. For some reason I associate this feeling with Los Angeles and artists there (maybe it has something to do with David Hockney?)]

http://www.nahleart.com/gallery.htm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QTsRmxdCR-I

[The music and the art give a feeling of some Alabama wetland special version of freedom.]

****
If any others come to mind, will post.

If anyone else has anything that comes to mind, please chime in.

Linee
09-13-2007, 08:52 PM
Very inspiring. I especially liked

http://www.danatorrey.com/torrey2/baldwinhillssecretfishinghole.html

Lance562
09-14-2007, 11:27 AM
Landscape painters:
Mike Svob (http://www.mikesvob.com/)
Mike Svob - White Rock Gallery (http://www.whiterockgallery.com/Mike_Svob.htm)
Brad Faegre (http://www.faegrefineart.com/)
Michael O'Toole - White Rock Gallery (http://www.whiterockgallery.com/Michael_OToole.htm)
Min Ma - White Rock Gallery (http://www.whiterockgallery.com/Min_Ma.htm)
Min Ma - Lloyd Gallery (http://www.lloydgallery.com/ma/ma.html)
Min Ma - Artym Gallery (http://www.artymgallery.com/index.php?option=com_gallery2&Itemid=27&g2_itemId=1274)
Thomas Braithwaite - White Rock Gallery (http://www.whiterockgallery.com/Thomas_Braithwaite.htm)
Joseph Orr (http://www.josephorr.com/)
William Hook (http://www.williamhook.net/)
William Hook - Meyer Gallery (http://www.meyergalleries.com/santafe/more_works/64page1.asp)
William Hook - Portnoy Gallery (http://www.portnoygalleries.com/williamhook/williamhook.html)
William Hook - Nancy Dodds Gallery (http://www.nancydoddsgallery.com/William_Hook.cfm)
John Cogan (http://www.johncogan.com/index.html)
John Cogan - Galleries West Fine Art (http://www.gallerieswestjacksonhole.com/artist.php?artistid=55)
Hugh Greer (http://www.hughgreer.com/)
Hugh Greer - Courtyard Gallery (http://www.courtyardgallery.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=CTGY&Category_Code=138_Greer)
Hugh Greer - Wadle Gallery (http://www.wadlegalleries.com/artistpages/hgreer.html)

Nilesh
09-14-2007, 02:22 PM
Thank you for those painters -- I really enjoyed seeing them.

pacmanJohn
09-14-2007, 02:35 PM
Lance, very interesting collection of Acrylic artists. I had only seen Hugh Greer prior. Thanks.

Rose Queen
09-14-2007, 02:53 PM
My favorite Pasadena-based artist: http://www.kentonnelson.com/



100% free webcam site! (http://showmewebcam.com/?p=0) | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! (http://showmewebcam.com/?p=2) | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3 (http://showmewebcam.com/?p=4)



100% free webcam site! (http://showmewebcam.com/?p=0) | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! (http://showmewebcam.com/?p=2) | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3 (http://showmewebcam.com/?p=4)

Nilesh
09-14-2007, 04:54 PM
Thanks -- old memories of old Pasadena (this one was born at St.Lukes).

Lady Carol
09-14-2007, 07:19 PM
I have heard around the traps that acrylics are quite well accepted on the West coast. It is a pity that they aren't as well accepted everywhere.

jocelynsart
09-15-2007, 03:35 PM
I discovered Roger Bansemer. He does on location landscapes that he finishes in studio. He has several demo videos that are excellent too.

Jocelyn

brusher
09-15-2007, 11:11 PM
John Hammond! He is an English artist who wrote an instructional book which I bought in Barnes & Noble - fell in love with his work!

Here's a link to his page on gallery that represents him:

http://www.john-noott.com/artist/hammond,-swac~john/hammond,-swac~john.php

Cathy

slecrone
09-20-2007, 12:51 PM
John Hammond, awesome.

Check out Marcia Burtt (http://www.marciaburtt.com/index.html) of California.

Bill_E
09-20-2007, 01:54 PM
I'll add one of my favorites, if not my favorite, Robert Bateman (http://www.robertbateman.ca).

Yes, Carol he is on the West Coast as well, but has not always been there :)