PDA

View Full Version : Need Help With Soft Edged Art

fazzy01
09-05-2007, 02:46 PM
Hi guys its me again :wave:

I gave up on that marbling technique, as I have had a big reality check. I am an artist whose portfolio only cosists of hard edged work, as I consider myself more of a designer. I think with the marbling technique, I maybe skipping a very basic technique, and one that I should learn before I attempt anything. I really need to master blending before I attempt any sort of soft edged art, as thats the most important skill thats required.

I know most of you are masters at blending with acrylics, and this maybe a topic that is really basic to you. But I need some advice on blending to create soft edged abstract art. I need to learn to blend so i can create fabulous effects. The following are the kind of effects i would like to achieve with acrylics. They are just partial images of full artwork that I got from a website where you can download pictures for money.

Can they be achieved with a brush and acrylic paint? ANy tips would be really appreciated. Do I need to use other tools instead of a brush to achieve these results?

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/05-Sep-2007/90942-EXAMPLE6.jpg

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/05-Sep-2007/90942-EXAMPLE1.jpg http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/05-Sep-2007/90942-EXAMPLE3.jpg

here is some of my work that i do with metal leaf (which is very difficult to apply), acrylics, and mixed media.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/05-Sep-2007/90942-goldenluxury2.jpg

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/05-Sep-2007/90942-tripleclass2.jpg

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/05-Sep-2007/90942-redchic1.jpg

Bill_E
09-05-2007, 04:32 PM
First, I like your work. :thumbsup:

Blending. This seems to be a frequent topic on this forum and some searching will give you a number of ideas.