PDA

View Full Version : Best warm blue for simplified palette: Cobalt...or?

AnnieA
08-31-2007, 01:14 PM
I'm a beginning oil painter using an odd collection of oil paints from a years-ago foray into painting that I wasn't able to continue at the time. I'm starting out with a warm/cool limited palette. Right now, I have ultramarine blue for my cool blue, which works fine, and Windsor (student grade) Cerulean for my warm blue, which isn't satisfactory, as it's not strong enough in mixes. I'm thinking I'll use the Cerulean for skies, but will get a new warm blue to fill out my palette.

I was pretty much decided on Cobalt (the real stuff - artist's grade), until I happened to read Michael Wilcox's description of the pure pigment as "low in tinting strength." Wilcox, I realize, isn't always entirely reliable, but I want to make sure that the paint I buy is going to work for me, since my palette is so limited. Is Cobalt a good choice for such a palette? Is there some other alternative that might work as well, but perhaps be a bit less expensive for a beginner like me? I should add that I'm hesitant to use Pthalo Blue, GS, as it's so strong.

I've read just a little bit about reflectance curves (in the back of Hillary Page's excellent book on watercolor paints), and how a pigment's reflectance curve can predict it's usefulness in mixing, but I haven't really found a good source describing each pigment's reflectance curve. Does anyone have a source? Any thoughts/advice on this issue would be appreciated.

Einion
08-31-2007, 02:12 PM
Phthalo Blue GS (PB15:3 is the usual number you'll see on the labels) would be a good pairing for French Ultramarine.

Einion

Patrick1
08-31-2007, 07:28 PM