PDA

View Full Version : Hawaii Coast

Tedra64
05-24-2002, 11:18 AM
This is an acrylic on watercolor paper I did from a photo I took when on vacation in Hawaii. This is my first attempt at painting from a photo. Let me know what you think.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/24-May-2002/DCP_0008.JPG

:)

amanda
05-25-2002, 01:37 AM
I was wondering if this is finished or not. To me I would think that a touch of green vegetation would help finish it off. Also, the water could become darker the further out it goes. Just a though but I do like the bright colours here, lovely.

mel-o
05-25-2002, 02:27 PM
I like the way you have handled the coastline. The brushwork and color combinations really work for me. Sorta looks like chocolate syrup. Hmmm...I think I just made myself hungry.

mel

orchidlover6
05-25-2002, 02:39 PM
uhmmm i have to agree with amanda. this looks like it's not quite there yet..... nice start though...

Tedra64
05-25-2002, 05:19 PM
Orchidlover6, Amanda & Mel-o

Thanks for the suggestions. I'm still pretty new and any ideas and suggestions are really appreciated. I'll make some adjustments and then repost when I finish. Again, Thanks
:)

little dreamer
05-26-2002, 03:51 AM
~ the way you made the sky - clouds near and clouds far, they look real good~

sophia
05-26-2002, 09:32 AM
Great start to what looks like will be a great painting... keep up the good work...I bet you took lots of great pictures that will make great paintings...Sophia:clap:

Matttscott
05-26-2002, 03:05 PM
Tedra, I really like this.

I'd like to see some more color in this. Seawater is rarely this blue, and clouds are rarely this white. The ocean could use more of a greenish tint (which would help to tie it to the green of the vegetation on the land). The clouds could use a bit more texture. I'd also like to see a light source. A light source would bring it all together, reflecting off of the clouds, the waves, and the land.