PDA

View Full Version : Ruby Roses on Bone China.

valchina612
08-10-2007, 09:41 PM
This is a medium that I don't think we've had in our new Forum as yet. I have been painting on Porcelain for the past 26 years, and have been a Qualified Teacher for 22 years. This one is Ruby and Pink Roses on a 10" Bone China Plate. For painting on china, we have to use a paint that is especially formulated for this use, and it comes in vials as a powder pigment. We mix it with a Mixing Medium to a toothpaste consistency, and kept on a covered palette, the paint can stay open for anything up to a couple of years, depending on the type of medium with which the paint has been mixed -- there are open mediums and closed mediums, and everyone has their own personal choice where this is concerned. I like to mix my paints with an open medium, and paint with a semi-open.
I started with a light wash of colour on the Roses and leaves, and then kiln-fired it at 800 degrees Centigrade. This process is repeated until the necessary depth of colour is obtained. A number of thin washes is much more advisable than trying to get the strength of colour on in one hit. This plate had 5 kiln firings, plus an extra one for the gold rim which I put on by hand. The gold rim is hard to see in this image.

Val. :wave:

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/10-Aug-2007/38312-Porcelain_--_Rose_Plate_Josie_500x.jpg

Margaret 59
08-10-2007, 09:59 PM
This is just gorgeous Val. How long did it take to paint this plate? It's something I couldn't manage in 100 years. :lol:

damar
08-10-2007, 11:36 PM
I had no idea that this work would be layered and fired as many times as necessary to attain the final finish.
Its very beautiful, Val and fascinating.

debsn2paintn
08-11-2007, 01:44 AM