PDA

View Full Version : trillium

bayoudragon
08-05-2007, 08:51 PM
Here's something I worked on this weekend. It based off a pic one of our nature center volunteers took. It's one of his favorite shots of our native trilliums, so I'm going to give it to him as a gift for all his hard work and dedication. :)

Oh, Mum or Carol, I'm new to acrylics... what do you seal this with, or do you need to?? :confused:

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/05-Aug-2007/73972-johns_trilliums_post.jpg

4x6, fluid acrylics on black colourfix paper... (colourfix comes out grainy-looking with a scanner... o.O)

-BD

yahooserious
08-05-2007, 08:55 PM
This is gorgeous. There is an article or two about sealing watercolor paintings in the Watercolor Forum. I would think a light spray with workable fixative and then a light spray or coat of non-yellowing clear acrylic.

Emilie

Lady Carol
08-05-2007, 09:42 PM
Seal it with varnish. Golden has a good product that you dilute with water called polymer varnish with UVLS. I like the gloss varnish mostly because I glaze with gloss medium and it evens out the gloss vs. matte areas. I think gloss makes acrylic better but then that is my opinion. Actually my varnish method is two coats of glazing medium to bring out the intensity of the colour and two coats of varnish. It takes about 3 hr with drying time to do this. I am not sure about the spraying the piece. I haven't had any success with spraying acrylics with varnish, but others have.

OK. Having said all that, I haven't said anything about the painting which is lovely. I like the balance between the green and the red. It is stunning. They are going to love it.

C_Line
08-05-2007, 10:58 PM
Indeed, the composition and shadows are magnificent. I use Liquitex combination glazing medium and varnish. Works good for me.

bayoudragon
08-05-2007, 11:19 PM