PDA

View Full Version : watercolor & Prismacolor

ArtWench
05-20-2002, 11:42 AM
Hi everyone, I am somewhat new to Wet Canvas and almost as new to colored pencil. I have been an artist since Mama first placed a crayon in my chubby baby fist; however, as an adult I have concentrated on acrylic painting or graphite drawings. Due to neck surgery, I wasn't able to hold a brush for long periods of time and so gave cp a shot. I am definitely sold!

Anyway, getting back to the subject at hand... Has anyone tried painting in a watercolor background AFTER completing a Prismacolor subject (I do portraits)? It seems like the wax would repel the water colors but fill in the negative spaces rather nicely.

And if you use a watercolor wash, what kind of watercolors do you use? I tried a wash using some cheap cake colors (okay, so they were my 6 year old's) and was dismayed that they had a kind of wierd finish... It almost felt waxy (yeah, I know... but that is what it felt like!)

Ivyleaf
05-20-2002, 12:32 PM
Yes it is possible to use watercolors and prisma's together...a word of caution however, is not to use your water too wet beside the prisma's. In addition to wax, prismas also contain clay and other things that are water soluable, and indeed can cause the pencils to somewhat dissolve in lots of water. *From experience here...lol!*

My suggestion is to do the watercolor background first, with a high quality watercolor, such as Winsor & Newton Artist Grade. You will find a BIG difference between those and student or kid grade watercolors.

Make sure as well you are using a paper that is made for watercolors if you do this, most drawing papers cannot handle the wear and tear watercolors can make to a paper, not to mention the warping it can cause if your paper is not thick enough to handle it. I'd recommend Arches or Winsor and Newton hot pressed or even cold pressed depending on how rough you like your paper.