PDA

View Full Version : fixative

sharcol91
07-18-2007, 10:47 PM
I've been reading where a lot of you are spraying fixative to the grounds before working on the painting. If you have Wallis or Colorfix, are you supposed to spray it with fixative before you start your drawing? It might be a personal preference, but I've seen a lot of people talk about it. Thanks for responding. I'm just getting started with pastels.

JON805
07-19-2007, 12:58 AM
Since working on Wallis I have not used Fixative in years.

mrking
07-19-2007, 01:08 AM
I use fixative on canson when I lose the tooth. On sanded paper I have no need to use fixative.

Deborah Secor
07-19-2007, 01:08 AM
I guess I'm a little confused... I really think most of us here DON'T spray fixative at all, and no on I know of sprays fix on Wallis or Colourfix before painting. A few might spray a charcoal UNDERdrawing with workable fixative before applying color over it, but I don't even do that...

For a little perspective on my method you can check out this article: Underlying Shapes (http://http://www.wetcanvas.com/Articles2/23609/460/)

Deborah

mrking
07-19-2007, 01:26 AM
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Articles2/23609/460/ <-- link fixed

Pabs
07-19-2007, 05:44 AM
I only spray fixative on Canson MT when I've finished. Only once, ever, have I sprayed it on a piece of work to add a little more once I thought it was "completed".
Regards,
Pabs

sharcol91
07-19-2007, 12:28 PM
Thank you so much for your replies. I have also read that some will spray fixative in the middle of the painting to be able to add more layers. I'm supposing the fixative adds a little more for the pastel to grab a hold of.

bluefish
07-19-2007, 03:48 PM