PDA

View Full Version : Help with Triptych

gaykir
07-07-2007, 04:30 PM
I have decided to start another large project (I must be nuts!). It's a Triptych and each canvas is 18" X 36". I've already decided one needs to basically paint all three at the same time. Does anyone have any grand ideas? I have just one easle but I can easily hammer 3 nails on the wall and hang them side by side. If any of you have any words of wisdom. I'd sure like to hear them. This is a special request from my sister.

here are the ref photos...

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/07-Jul-2007/56079-canvas1_2.jpg http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/07-Jul-2007/56079-canvas_2_2.jpg http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/07-Jul-2007/56079-canvas_3_2.jpg

screechin
07-07-2007, 04:35 PM
Gayle, I've never done a painting like that before so I can't offer any help but I just wanted to say that I love the reference photo and can't wait to see how this progresses. Please keep us updated.

idcrisis55
07-07-2007, 04:38 PM
I have never painted a triptych but if you have a long table maybe you could jury rig an easel with plywood and 2 x 4's to place on top of the table so you can paint them side by side. Just a thought :). Yes please share your progress on this. The photo is gorgeous and no doubt your painting will be too.

dreamz
07-07-2007, 06:01 PM
thats going to be HUGE, I don't think a couple of nails in the wall will give you the support you need to paint. Working flat on a table will be difficult because of the size. Personally if I were to consider that size endeveor I would attach a sheet of plywood to the wall with hinges at the top and and some sort of adjustable suppports on the bottom, making a collapable type of "easle". A thin strip of wood along the bottom would support the canvas's. That may not be practical for you (it wouldn't be for me because I dont have a free wall that size)

Good luck on your project, please keep us informed of your progress

Alison2