PDA

View Full Version : Untitled2

Old Tex
07-02-2007, 11:41 PM
Did this over the weekend. I did this once as a quickie, then decided to do it again and carry it to a finished piece. (Not sure what I'm doing wrong with the uploads. The verticals always look to skinny.) Comments are always welcome.

Gouache 8x10
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/02-Jul-2007/100938-Untitled-2_copy.jpg

Seleeni
07-03-2007, 07:42 PM
Hi Ralph,

I really like the design--this circular flow around the painting. And it has the depth. Given that I'm an amateur critiquer, I don't know quite how to say this except that the colors don't quite meld together like your other paintings. Something about the bluegreen maybe? Sorry I can't be more specific.

Selene

Old Tex
07-04-2007, 12:07 AM
Thanks, Selene, I do appreciate you looking and commenting. I think we're all amateurs at this critique business. I appreciate your observation.

John Nicholas
07-04-2007, 09:32 AM
I like it. Its amazing that such simple view could become such a gorgeous painting. The composition is great, and the sense of depth and atmosphere, as always, is inviting. You have a knack for the development of space using color.:clap:

Old Tex
07-04-2007, 04:07 PM
Hi John. Thanks! Seems like I tend to use a limited palette most of the time, so I'm trying to push my color a bit. I really appreciate your comments.

meglyman
07-04-2007, 06:13 PM
Ralph,

I love how this is different for you. The blues are beautiful, and they give the painting a nice, serene, cool feel that your others don't have, because they're usually "hot." This one feels more like an old WA golf course than a TX one. ;)