PDA

View Full Version : Tips

archang3l
07-01-2007, 10:11 PM
Hiya again does anyone have any helpful tips for a calligrapher like me? I have been writing for like 2 years but its been off and on. I know a lot about it and know how to write various gothic types but when i look at everyone elses posts of their calligraphy it blows me out of the water and makes mine look very bad :lol:

here is some things about my calligraphy
1. usually bland just black ink (cause i havent seen different collored ones too much)
2. Im not much of a artist ( i cant draw well and thats what usually makes calligraphy amazing, the drawings within the words and the such)
3. I usually use a pen that u insert the ink cartridge in ( but i just bought a brand new dip pen with like 5 other tips, havent really had a chance to use it tho)

any helpful things with improving would be GREATLY appreciated

p.s. got a quick question where does everyone get their fonts do u make them up or just find them on the internet (like i do :D)

thx
God bless

Jakeally
07-05-2007, 01:02 PM
I admire anyone that does calligraphy. I have tried it several times but I just don't have the stamina for all the practice:rolleyes: :D
I would imagine that you will have to experiment with different pens to find the one you are most comfortable with and then it will be down to practice, practice, practice.
Read all the books you can find on the subject and research the internet for Illuminated letters.
Try to take a drawing class ... it would be enormously helpful to you
You are off to a brilliant start and I wish you luck with your journey:D :wave:

Penmoel
07-30-2007, 02:32 PM
Haia
You need to get away from the cartridge world, concentrate on the dip pens with the gouach (many colours), try and get some lessons it will point you in the right direction, nothing like one to one.
Wishing you well :wave: :thumbsup:

inkmonkey
08-01-2007, 11:16 AM
archang31