PDA

View Full Version : Spring Rush

Mikki Petersen
06-25-2007, 03:31 PM
Hi! I'm in the midst of a new painting and decided to post for comments before going any farther. It's of the American River in the Sierras during the Spring snow melt. Came across this charming little fall while hiking the River's edge. Working on Persimmon colored Lacarte paper, full sheet, I'm exaggerating the warm colors in the rocks to contrast with the cool colors of the water. The ref was taken late in the day so there are no strongly contrasting lights and I'm sort of making the highlights up as I go. This is my first attempt at rapids.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/25-Jun-2007/14550-Spring_Rush_2.jpg

Don't know why this is so blurred...my photo is not. Anyway, it shows well enough to evaluate, I hope. I'd love your c&c's.

Mikki

Kathryn Wilson
06-25-2007, 04:03 PM
Mikki - you are on a roll! I love this and I have no comments to make other than that. Keep up the good work!

Karen Margulis
06-25-2007, 04:14 PM
I love this too! I don't know how much more you were going to do....but I like it just the way it is. It has a wonderful freshness about it and I think the rapids look perfect! Just my opinion. Keep up the great work!
Karen

Pat Isaac
06-25-2007, 05:13 PM
I love it too, and will pull up a chair. Great rapids feeling and good composition.

Pat

Orchidacea
06-25-2007, 05:30 PM
I love love love this, Mikki!! The warm tones in the rocks look so lush and exciting peeping out from under the water. Can't wait to see where you go wtih this--but you could stop now and have a winner!

Paula Ford
06-25-2007, 05:57 PM
Fabulous Mikki!! No comments from me either.

Paula

Diana_pastels
06-25-2007, 06:00 PM
Mikki,
This is terrific, such movement in the water! Love the colors, and your rocks. Don't know what else you would be doing to it to "finish" it, maybe a little spray on some of the rocks?
Diana

Kathryn Day
06-25-2007, 06:05 PM