PDA

View Full Version : Printing at home?

bluegypsy
06-18-2007, 05:16 PM
Hi,

I'm planning to buy a new printer, which I want to use for printing greeting cards, proofs, and other professional-type work. Most of my art will be sent to a printer, but for certain small jobs, I'd like to have a good way to do it myself. I'm just starting out, and while I like my HP Photosmart, it's not quite enough for semi-professional results. Any suggestions? Also, I know this question has been beat to death, but I'm going to ask with my own personal spin! If my monitor is set to 72 dpi, how do I know if what I do to edit my work in Photoshop, is what I'll get when I actually print, or save my digital files? Does calibrating my monitor actually help here, or is it all in the printing? Thanks so much, Janice:rolleyes:

Chiers
06-19-2007, 05:41 AM
Your monitor resolution won't effect your printout one way or the other. What you need to make sure of is that your paint program is set to a minimum of 150dpi/ppi. Most home inkjet printers will print out a good quality picture at that. If you send to a printer they will usually want it to be a minimum of 300dpi/ppi.
As far as the color results go it defineately will help to calibrate your monitor! One of my printers is an HP and it does a good job of matching my colors just the way it came from the factory.

bluegypsy
06-19-2007, 01:47 PM