PDA

View Full Version : "Birthday"

kristinbbold
06-16-2007, 06:56 PM
Hello all! This is a piece I've been working on, off and on, for a couple of months now. It's a 24" x 48" acrylic on canvas. It was the first painting in a series I'm doing titled "Bitter Sweets". This particular piece is inspired by the similarities found in celebrating one's birthday and the festive holiday Dia de los Muertes ( Day of the Dead in English). It is a tribute to my own life and death and I created it for my own private collection. Overall I quite enjoyed painting it- but I came to a point where I felt it was becoming too busy so I just stopped. I went ahead and hung it on the wall and overall I really like it, but there is still something that's bothering me about it. The lower left hand quadrant seems to lose me visually. I think maybe the "ribbons" are leading my eye off the canvas? My husband and friends keep telling me its great and to leave it alone but I just can't quit thinking about it. I think maybe I've looked at it too long and thought maybe some outside input would help. So, what do you think?:confused:

P.S. The parts that look black are actually a dark violet.

veedubya
06-16-2007, 07:19 PM
I like this as a piece of your personal collection. Great idea! Maybe you just need a couple more bluebirds of happiness!

idylbrush
06-16-2007, 08:55 PM
Intriguing piece. Like the symbolism. Great colors and good execution.

cathrs
06-17-2007, 02:11 AM
The corner that worries you, does not worry me. Perhaps live with it a little longer?

Rettakat
06-17-2007, 02:39 AM
Very intriguing! I like it very much.

For me, I think it is the contrast between the bright green leaves (?) and the red/pink color that pulls my eye down to the lower left corner. I covered the green up and then looked again, and it calmed right down...just an idea.

But really, it's a fascinating piece!:clap:

RTT
06-17-2007, 12:00 PM
A rich, thought provoking work!