PDA

View Full Version : Newbie need suggestions

clio
06-16-2007, 03:21 PM
Hi there,

I've been lurking here and having so much fun looking at beautiful works here. I'm not an artist but I was asked to design a cover image for a scientific research magazine based on a research concept. Now i have two images here and would appreciate your input.

Which of the two color schemes looks better to you? Or do you suggest using other colors? What tools in photoshop could I use to make the image look better? Any ideas, suggestions, or comments will be greatly appreciated!

:heart:
Clio

gigih
06-16-2007, 03:26 PM
not trying to be mean , but both images look a little blah. definitely need different color combos, try yellow/blue or yellow/red. it would help to know more of what you're trying to achieve to give more advice.

clio
06-16-2007, 03:39 PM
Thanks for looking and giving me suggestions, Gigi. I know I can't call my images digital art, at least in the current form. I'll try the colors you suggested. Do you mean yellow in the background or yellow for the letters and blue/red in the background? Talking about what I'm trying to achieve, well, I want to have an image that looks pleasant and hopefully eye-catching on the cover of a magazine. Thank you!

gigih
06-16-2007, 04:00 PM
Play around with the colors and decide what looks most pleasing to your eyes, just remember that yellow is supposedly the most eye-catching color, I wouldn't use it as the background though, you might want a muted background and then the letters in yellow to grab people's attention.

NunaInua
06-16-2007, 04:32 PM
you can also make the background two different colors instead of yellow/white, purple/white.

Try adding a texture to the whole piece...it will give it more "depth".

Just put it on another layer so you can play with it.

Oh....if you give itmore depth it might help...add grater contrast...some deep tones and light tones.

clio
06-16-2007, 10:00 PM
Great suggestions! Thank you!