PDA

View Full Version : Textured face

Seleeni
06-15-2007, 02:05 PM
Hi!

I appreciate your discussion Meg and Ralph, about the pencil lines (under Ralph's WIP thread). You can see them here. Can I paint a face without an underdrawing? It seems impossible if I'm trying to get a good likeness because I really have to study the face and erase alot until I get it right. In this case, I wasn't going for an exact likeness. This face was from a magazine ad so changing it abit is probably good. I was thinking of a more "generic" face that someone might want to hang on their wall because of the uplifting expression.

This is my first time working on Arches 300lb coldpress. Wow, so different than the smooth, lighter paper. Didn't struggle with the buckling that's been such a problem. And I experiemented with alot of texture. Maybe the pencil is OK because of the overall texture.

Dick Blick has these precut mats in unusual shapes, in black so I tried a mock-up. Does black actually work as a mat? I have yet to frame anything, so that would be learning process too. I'm thinking of doing a series of little faces.

Thanks for looking.
Selene

Textured face
8 x 6"
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/15-Jun-2007/91995-Textured_face1_72.jpg

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/15-Jun-2007/91995-Textured_face1_framed.jpg

Seleeni
06-18-2007, 01:39 PM
Well, no comments on this so far and I don't know what that means. Please let me know if you think this portrait doesn't work as I have a lot to learn.

Selene

Old Tex
06-18-2007, 01:45 PM