PDA

View Full Version : Stuck on this for awhile :( Help sought

designergigi
05-11-2002, 11:20 AM
bonjour!

This painting has been staring back at me for some time, now. I can't put my finger on it, but, it seems to be missing something.

Ideas welcome!
Thanks in advance,
Gigi

20 x 24 acrylic on canvas

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/11-May-2002/Girl_going_home.JPG

Here's another that I am more pleased with and like the "painterly" effect it gives. It is a copy of a Pisarro. I am self taught, and use this method to improve.
Again, I appreciate the help!

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/11-May-2002/Painting_in_the_Pisarro_style.JPG

LDianeJohnson
05-11-2002, 06:06 PM
Hi Gigi,

It is hard to say what is missing since we do not have the original you painted from to faithfully compare.

However, just taking it as posted, you have many tall verticals; the house, the figure, the trees to the right. The figure is fairly far to the right and the open sky area tends to separate the house and figure even more. You have plenty of subjects in this piece, you just need to visually tie the figure to the house. Is the scene telling a story about this woman in blue? Perhaps she longs to go to the house or is just enjoying being outside? If you can clarify her relationship to the scene it would solidify it more. And if you could correct the front side of the roof so it naturally comes forward more, this would pull it into the painting rather than away from the scene.

You could also bring some of the grass up overlapping the bottom of her dress so it looks like she is in the grass rather than floating above it.

You've chosen a great master painter to learn from in Pissaro. Keep up the good work!

All the Best,
Diane

designergigi
05-11-2002, 08:58 PM