PDA

View Full Version : Rocky Weekend

Old Tex
06-10-2007, 10:13 PM
Since I find painting rocks pretty intimidating, I decided to face my fears and try some studies this weekend. I found myself working with pretty thin paint, probably because I was on unfamiliar ground. May as well be brave and share these.

Both are 8x10 ~ Gouache
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/10-Jun-2007/100938-Diving_Rock.jpg

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/10-Jun-2007/100938-Rock_Pile.jpg

pelucco
06-11-2007, 07:03 AM
Hi

I'm a newbie here and I'm very fond of gouache.
I've seen many of your works and they are VERY VERY nice.
Could you PLEASE post a WIP so that I can learn something about this medium and not just keep on sighing for looking at your beautyfull works.

Sorry for my broken English.

Thanks,

:wave:

Liliana, Italy

meglyman
06-11-2007, 08:04 AM
Ralph,

These look great, especially for your first try at rocks! It definitely has your style printed on it, although it has a different feel because of the more transparent application. I love the earthy colors and the texture in the water.

I like that the rocks and their shadows have a high contrast - I think you could extend that and add more middle-to-dark areas. The lower right rock in the second painting has a nice range of values that make it look more textured.

Excellent work, again. You continue to be an inspiration. I am trying to be disciplined and finish a huge pencil piece before I paint again, but you're making it difficult. :D

Meg

Old Tex
06-11-2007, 09:07 AM
Liliana, I actually did take a few progress photos of the first one as I went along. I don't have the nerve yet to do an actual WIP for fear that it will go really bad somewhere along the way! I'll post the progress photos and try to explain what I did. Thanks for the very nice comments!