PDA

View Full Version : Sarah-WIP

Caron
05-09-2002, 04:38 PM
I started to do this last week then chickened out and decided to do her in graphite which I have posted over in the drawing forum.
Since then, I figured I had to just go for it! This is my first attempt at painting a person. Hard as it is, it is even harder when its your own daughter!
On canvas 10x11. Still tweeking hair, clip and some of the face..
Any suggestions welcome!!

orchidlover6
05-09-2002, 04:47 PM
caron - like I said about the graphite one - you

Rock!

I love the folds in her clothes. The chin seems a bit longish to me but I don't know if it's true to life or not. The hair is well done.

Caron
05-09-2002, 05:06 PM
:D You boost my ego orchid.....:)
I took a look at the chin and you may be right. I was so preoccupied with trying to get the right skin colours I may have overlooked that..Thanks!

mf.sutton
05-09-2002, 05:39 PM
Caron, once again amazing, lovely picture, the hair is just a wow - Mike:clap: :clap:

kimmikat
05-09-2002, 05:49 PM
This is beautifully done, I am in awe of anyone that can do portraits and you did a really nice one :clap:

BRIDGES
05-09-2002, 07:12 PM
way too much chin,but it may be the shadowing, ones eye goes to the reddish chin spot where it seems it should be thinner compared to the bone structure of the face. A lovely little girl, a beauty,but too much chin,Hair is great and eyes which one tends to make too big usually. Nice, all but the already critqued chin Bridges

Caron
05-10-2002, 12:00 AM
I worked on Sarah some tonight and think I have her complete now. At least unless someone sees something I've missed. The clip is finished, touched her hair and finished her face tones.
Bridges I also noticed the chin and corrected it. Thanks! With my brushstrokes I ended up going out about 1/4 inch! This one Im framing I think..
Mike and Kimmi, thanks again for your kind comments of her in progress! I really do appreciate your support!..:)

KarenU
05-10-2002, 11:01 AM