PDA

View Full Version : Plein Air - Best Practices for Setup?

learningtopaint
05-20-2007, 08:06 PM
I've been doing pastels en plein air for a few years, and when it's going well, I love it. Still, the setup is so cumbersome. Comments are welcome:

Easel: I've got a Jullian half-box. Setup and striking is a bit cumbersome, but not too bad. It stands fine, adjusts fine. The center drawer is useless, adds weight, but I can't figure out anything I would put in there without feeling that it would fall right out. I've considered a large sketch easel from WN or from Mabef, but neither more than a pound or so lighter, and both are flimsier. The Soltek seems interesting, but it's expensive and reviews have been somewhat mixed. A Jullian full box would be heavier, but maybe I could store the pastels more securely in what appears to be a far better drawer.

Box o' Pastels: Usually, I start with either a 50-kit of Girault (if I want to travel light and do the whole painting with one type of pastel), or a 48-kit of Prismacolor with a few 72-boxes of Unison (for these, I'll carry a roll-up table). Usually, either setup is fine. When I'm working at the tripod without the table (my Girault setup), the box is balanced on the sticking-out part of the drawer. When a wind gust comes along, the pastels can fall.

Drawing Surface and Ground: I had Home Depot cut some lightweight masonite in 2' x 3' sheets. They cost me $2 each, and they're terrific. I tape a sheet of Wallis from one of her large pads before I leave the house. Works great. Often, I carry the drawing board with paper attached in the easel; the Jullian is designed to be used this way, and although it's a bit awkward, it saves a hand and is stable enough.