PDA

View Full Version : Drying paintings in the trunk of car

Cat0075
05-02-2007, 08:36 AM
Had a debate with some gal's I paint with every Tuesday.. 93 yesterday!!!! Some say they let there oil paintings dry in the trunk of the car a few weeks before taken them indoors to show family.. Now have to remember I live in the south and the trunk of the car can get well over 100 Degrees.
I said no way would I leave mine to dry in the trunk it would end up cracking.. Others say wouldn't hurt and never crack.. Never done any testing What do you think?
Plan to take topic next week to show the gals... We are all self taught, etc.
Cat

MikeN
05-02-2007, 08:40 AM
Hi,

What kind of paint? oil, acrylic, watercolor? Oils for example, dont "dry" they polymerize. With that in mind, they set faster when their is more oxygen around.

Other considerations: Expansion and contraction is rarlely good for paints on a support. The idea sounds risky to me.

Mike

perryjohnson
05-03-2007, 02:26 AM
Leaving a painting out in the sun for awhile will do more to "dry" it than heat. Mike is right, oils don't dry like watercolor - where the water merely evaporates.

hdbart27fl
05-03-2007, 11:09 AM
Hi,

Oils for example, dont "dry" they polymerize. With that in mind, they set faster when their is more oxygen around.

Mike

So, just throwing this out there... would putting them in a room with an ozone generator dry them faster? Safely?

H.

omywa
05-03-2007, 11:24 AM
Had a debate with some gal's I paint with every Tuesday.. 93 yesterday!!!! Some say they let there oil paintings dry in the trunk of the car a few weeks before taken them indoors to show family.. Now have to remember I live in the south and the trunk of the car can get well over 100 Degrees.
I said no way would I leave mine to dry in the trunk it would end up cracking.. Others say wouldn't hurt and never crack.. Never done any testing What do you think?
Plan to take topic next week to show the gals... We are all self taught, etc.
Cat