PDA

View Full Version : Old Tree By The Creek

Old Tex
04-28-2007, 09:25 PM
The dark blue in the foliage shadow on the left doesn't really jump out on the original like it does here, Tried photographing, but didn't do any better, so stayed with the scanner.

C&C welcome.

Gouache 5x7
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/28-Apr-2007/100938-Old_Tree_By_Creek.jpg

rdp
04-29-2007, 10:14 AM
Another beauty!
Just curious if there is a particular reason why you choose 5x7 size for most of the posted works?

Scottjr
04-29-2007, 11:56 AM
This is a very nice painting. May I ask what brushes you work with?

Old Tex
04-29-2007, 01:05 PM
rdp, I just started painting a few months ago, and I'm still learning so much about the gouache, and about how to use the brushes, that, with landscapes, I'm just very comfortable working at this size. The portraits I've done are all 8x10, and I've done a couple of 8x10 landscapes, but I just haven't been all that comfortable with them. Besides, I'm cheap, and until I know more about what I'm doing, I hate to waste paint!

I will say that I've been thinking about stepping up to 8x10 again just to see if it changes the way I paint. So you may see one or two before long. I appreciate your interest, and your nice comment!

Scott, Thanks! When I started painting, I was using cheap paint and cheap craft brushes. The imprint says "Contemporary Crafts". (Probably the kind where you can buy a tube of twenty for $5!) I have since bought a few Windsor & Newton and Princeton brushes, but still find myself grabbing one of the cheaper ones for most things. Most of the foliage is done with #4 brights (Princeton), a #4 & #10 shader (Contemporary), and most of the detail and negative spaces in trees with a stiff #0 liner (Contemporary).