PDA

View Full Version : Rose-breasted Grosbeak-Newbee

vet
04-27-2007, 08:41 PM
Hi, Finally spent all day playing with this little guy. This is my second attempt and I love this medium. I have so much to learn and thanks to this group I've already received alot of help on my last thread.

Since I am just learning this medium and have been painting for less then a year with acrylics I would like your opion on this painting. Please do not be gentle. The only way one can learn is through someone else eyes and their learning experiences.

Thanks so very much.

Yvette

Scottjr
04-28-2007, 02:37 PM
Hi, this is Scottjr again. Another way to work with guoache is to use it in a way like egg tempera, using a hatching technique. This requires a very good konlinsky sable watercolor brush which has a full belly and holds a fine point. Given your subject matter, this way might be useful.

vet
04-28-2007, 02:59 PM
Hi Scott,

Is their any information on this "like egg tempera, using a hatching technique." that I could read about? I know what hatching is but never heared of a brush by that name before. Thanks, Yvette

Old Tex
04-28-2007, 08:56 PM
Well, Yvette, I think you're going to do fine. The fact that you've been painting already will be a big help. It's just a case of working with the medium and learning what you can do with it. This is a great start!

vet
04-28-2007, 09:37 PM
Thank you Old Tex for the encouragement. Maybe you could give me advice on what I may have done differently on this piece. I think I handled it too much like acrylic.

Thanks for your respond.

Yvette

Old Tex
04-28-2007, 10:29 PM