PDA

View Full Version : How to work with Gouache, Newbee

vet
04-26-2007, 07:01 PM
Hello to all,

I usually hang around the acrylic forum but have decided to give gouache a try. What I'd like to know is do you apply it in the same manner as acrylic, such as darks, middle tone and lights or is it more middle tone, lights then darks?

I thank you for any information that you can give me and happy painting.:wave:

Yvette

Folio
04-26-2007, 09:16 PM
I usually use gouache on toned paper for quick colour sketches or trials, e.g. on grey paper or ordinary brown paper. The paper works as a middle tone which enables one to go straight in with both lights and darks.

meglyman
04-27-2007, 08:27 AM
Hi Yvette!

Welcome to gouache. I hope you like it.

I'm still learning, but I find gouache works best when it isn't layered. I sometimes do a wash layer and paint over that, but opaque application is tough to paint over. The darn stuff lifts.

If you are going to layer, I'd suggest going dark-to-light. It's hard to paint darks over lights, due to the lifting tendency. If you just dab it on top and don't use many brush-strokes, it doesn't much matter what order you do. But If you try to paint a large dark area over a light one, you'll end up with mud that's in-between the two shades. With light over dark, you might lift, but if you do, the paper color shows through - so as long as the paper is light-colored, it works OK.

Meg

vet
04-27-2007, 12:15 PM
Thank you Mary Adam and Melyman for the information. I realize that gouache lifts when painting over layers. I do like the way that I can blend it with a damp brush. I read somewhere that you can work it as watercolor, which I have no clue about or oils which the tech are similiar to acrylics. I'm painting a bird right now and if it comes out alright, I'll put it on.

Again its nice to ask for help and receive it. Wetcanvas is an excellent group of people.

Thank you to both of you for your response.

Yvette

Old Tex