PDA

View Full Version : APRIL 2007 CLASSROOM: Flemish Technique in Acrylics

maverick
04-11-2007, 11:09 PM
Hi everyone! Many of you may have seen me share some "works in progress" paintings where I attempted to follow the Flemish Technique with pretty good results. Those threads can be found here: Salt Shaker (http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=413432), Egg Cup (http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=413919), and Pepper Shaker (http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=413643).

I'm by no means an expert in this technique, nor do I have any strong feelings about it except that it can be very useful for building color depth, ensuring you have a full value range, and helping with accuracy in realism. It's really all about planning ahead for a successful painting. When I was just starting out as a painter, I was often told that I didn't use enough colors. Now I glaze many colors in my paintings, and color glazing is part of the Flemish Technique. Another common mistake I made when I began to paint was to not use a full range of values (shadow and light). Interesting paintings are all about light, and light and shadow work together. The Flemish Technique makes sure you take care of this properly early on.

One of the major differences between the way I normally paint and the Flemish Technique is the monochrome underpainting step, referred to as the "dead layer". This step is very useful because it helps avoid having to correct mistakes while applying color. In fact the whole process stops you from carrying mistakes forward because you have the opportunity to deal with them once and for all during the earlier steps. It's difficult to completely hide something with glazes.