PDA

View Full Version : Need help with Color Theory on my painting

Stefan
04-29-2002, 09:15 PM
I am working on my second painting and its an attempt at a portrait.
the figure is done with different values of pthalo blue.

So the figure turned out very dark blue with black coloring also....

Now I am trying to visualize the background... but I am having trouble since I have no schooling whatsoever. I have no knowledge of color theory yet.

I initially was going to do the background in pthalo blue and black to stay with the color scheme but now I am curious whether I shouldnt be throwing a little more color into the painting.

If I do go with adding color... I am not sure what colors I should be using with the current colors.
Could someone lend me some knowledge/advice?
:confused:

blkros
04-30-2002, 08:14 AM
It's really hard to tell without seeing what you've already done, but you might want to add some reds and greens. If you have a way to scan the painting or take a picture and post it, it might help some. I like alizarin crimson with my thalo blue. Also, you don't necessarily need to add color, sometimes the monotone effect is what you are looking for.
Another thing--I find that instead of using black with the thalo, that, if I mix it with alizarin, it makes a nice rich 'black'. (Actually a dark purple) :)
I hope this helps you some.

Keith P

bruin70
05-01-2002, 12:33 AM
post an image

Stefan
05-01-2002, 05:22 PM
well this is the piece i was referring too...
im not happy with it... but im still new to this stuff so its a good learning experience.

I would love it if you would critique the color choices and maybe point me in a better direction if i need?

Stefan
05-01-2002, 05:23 PM
this is an edited version of it... it shows the colors a little better since i reduced the glare

bruin70
05-05-2002, 10:09 PM
ask yourself why you used blue in the first place. then would adding another color help. if so, then what color. play around with it in your image editor.