PDA

View Full Version : Lagoon

jan409
03-30-2007, 05:52 PM
I still have a few details to work out on, I have never worked with thalo blue before. It is strong. It came out real bright. I don't know about it yet. I know I had fun, but need some input. Janhttp://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/30-Mar-2007/63545-Lagoon.jpg

meganj
03-30-2007, 08:07 PM
that is a cute painting. Your horizon looks a bit angled though. I'm wondering if it's because the picture itself isn't quite straight. You could try neutralizing some of the blue with an opposite color.

Katie D
03-30-2007, 08:52 PM
This looks great except it needs some sun! It looks like a big cloud went over, so maybe if you put the sun in, or bathed some things in a warm glow you'd find it would compliment the blue and take away some of it's power. Love the composition!

Linee
03-30-2007, 09:14 PM
This is very pretty. Nice cloud formation. The palms look great. I like the way the red roofs capture the eye.

jan409
03-30-2007, 10:30 PM
thank you all. I do need some sun, I have work to do on it that is why I put it on so I can get some advice on what to do next. I will take all advice in my completion of the painting. Jan

idcrisis55
03-30-2007, 10:51 PM
Looks like a great day at the beach and wish I was there to enjoy it. I like your painting and you have received some good suggestions. That pthalo blue is soooo strong. I use just a touch of it and mix it with ultramarine to tone it down or its complement to gray it. One thing I noticed was that the buildings are pretty centered. Maybe in the next composition, if you do another, the buildings could be put either to the left or right of center a bit more. Just a thought. :)

paulavanzanten
03-30-2007, 11:16 PM