PDA

View Full Version : Returning to Printmaking

Meldy
04-24-2002, 09:09 PM
Hi Everyone! I am new here! I have been highly referred by another member and I am excited about the community here. I graduated with a BFA in Painting and Graphic Design (including Printmaking) and have spent the last two years establishing myself as a Web and Print Designer to bring in the money to establish my habit! Now I am starving to get back into Printmaking. Below are two examples of my work... I absolutely am in love with Intaglio but don't have the set up for it currently. I have just set up an area of my (small) apt for linoleum and woodcuts...and if anyone has any advice for a person who is jumping back in cold let me know!!! Thank you!!

Meldy
04-24-2002, 09:10 PM
here is the linoleum... wasn't sure how to add more than one file..

chris 97
04-25-2002, 11:41 AM
nice work. glad to see you have jumped back in to printmaking with both feet! looking forward to seeing more of your work. oh, and by the way, WELCOME!

Meldy
04-25-2002, 01:15 PM
Thanks Chris! Super glad to be here! Hopefully I will have some more stuff soon, it is crunch time at work! Nice to meet you!

sassybird
04-25-2002, 01:34 PM
I like both of these pieces. The lino is clean and well balanced in composition. Nice eye catcher. The intaglio is my favorite though. Can you tell us a bit about how you developed the image?

I have a very small studio in my home which is crammed beyond reason because I work in a variety of mediums, but printmaking is my favorite medium. I have a small Griffin press 13x24" which allows me to do intaglio as well as other printmaking techniques.

You can buy ferric cloride through several online/mail order companies, but if you can get it locally it will save you a great deal in hazardous chemical fees. I use a small rubbermaid container 9x14x4" to keep my acid mix in. It has an air tight lid which keeps it from evaporating. I have another container that I use to soak my paper in.