PDA

View Full Version : Please Help

stastn
03-01-2007, 12:21 PM
I am an art student at university and I recently had to do a 3ft x 5ft painting as an assignment based on the cultural landscape. I decided to paint the landscape using the axiom of landscape as a clue to culture.
With this in mind, i considered the routine, and customs of everyday life. I considered what was taking place in my country at the moment and i thought what is really the Reality? Presently, what is the routine, is not very pleasing. There is a lot of crime, violence, kidnapping, inflation... among many other issues. This is what i see. And i wanted to present this, not by painting someone shooting another person .. etc.. because that is very literal. I decided then to do this in a representational way. After much thought i painted a $100 tt bill on my 3ft x 5ft canvas. the currency of my country.
I did this with the thought of representing all these issues, not in any obvious way.. but because of the fact that, the money is the reason behind so many issues that are taking place i thought it was relevant.
I looked a bit into Andy Warhol's pop art, in terms of reference.

I thought that i had done a good job, but when my lecturer saw it she was very displeased, and said there was no validity, and i cannot Just paint a $100tt. She also said that "WHO WANTS TO LOOK AT A $100????" and she also said, "its not creative, because it was someone else's design"
She was not at all receptive to my ideas, and when trying to explain, she did not listen to me. :S

What do you think of this?
Are there any other artists beside Andy Warhol that i may make references to that worked in this way?
How do you think i may be able to convince her that there is validity in what i have done, and it is not Just a painting of a bill, but,the thought processes as well as meaning behind what is represented?

Charlie's Mum
03-04-2007, 08:11 AM