PDA

View Full Version : What do you think....

dragonwolf
02-23-2007, 12:39 PM
Hi, I'm brand new in the world of photography and I have been looking at some of these sites that you can post some of your work onto and then you can make some money based on how many ppl download your work, although when you upload these pictures to the site then thoes pics are not to be shown anywhere else or sold elsewhere. I was just wondering if this was a good way to get your work out to there, i mean is this how the whole freelance thing works i guess im just lost and wondering which way is the best way to get in to photography and not get ripped off too. Any susgestions of where to start or how you guys started. Well thank you in advance.

Brent

kaleidoscope eyes
02-23-2007, 01:55 PM
Hello Brent and welcome to the forums.
We have several members who submit to stock-photography sites and they would be able to tell you more than I can. However I do know that these sites require high resolution RAW files, what kind of equipment are you using?
There is a lot of competition in any area of photography and the first thing to do is master your art (practice practice practice) The second would be to find a niche for your type of images then try to get it out there to as many places and people as possible. It's not easy, but good luck to you!

If you would like some critique on your work post some images in the Darkroom (up to three) If you would like to introduce yourself and post some examples of your work use the Shutterbug Pub. Look forward to seeing you around the forums :)

Windy
02-23-2007, 04:06 PM
Brent the stock agencies all have different criteria
some want exclusive use of an image
some will let you use it elsewhere
some even have the exclusive down to not allowing you to sell images in the same genre .... eg one I know if you have animals with them you are not allowed to sell animals through any other means in the USA .... very restrictive