PDA

View Full Version : My 3rd

unity
02-15-2007, 11:37 AM
Hello to Everyone!

I am new to Wet Canvas and so glad I stumbled up on it. This is my 3rd painting in the last couple of months. I am also new to painting, as my last creative endeavours were in highschool art class, 25 years ago. The painting is approx. 2x3 ft and acrylic on canvas. Please offer coments, as I feel I need feed back to move me forward and help me find my groove, so to speak.

Thanks,
Suehttp://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/15-Feb-2007/101436-lumix_224..compressed.jpg

idcrisis55
02-15-2007, 01:10 PM
Love the blue hair and the lush red mouth. You are doing very well for your third painting. Painting people anytime is challenging. I think the area I noticed is that the nose appears rather long although very well painted and the chin area appears shorter than it would be reality. Did you use a photo as a basis for your painting? If so measure from the top of the head to center of the eyes (where the nose dips into the face, then measure from there to the end of the nose, then from the end of the nose to the chin. That will give you a general idea of what the measurements of each area needs to be. Hope this helps and I'm so glad you posted your work! I hope we see many more from you.

Jon
02-15-2007, 09:21 PM
Welcome to the Acrylics Forum!
That blue hair with tha green eye...very intense. I look forward to seeing more of your pieces.
I am wondering if this is from a photo or your imagination?

Mark Newton
02-15-2007, 10:01 PM
I never know how to comment when asked for an open opinion, as surely you must know if you have achieved what you were after. I think it works fine though for me....it would have quite a powerful look on a wall, especially at that size.

dreamz
02-15-2007, 10:08 PM
I agree totally with Mark, not knowing what you where going for its difficult to to give comment beyond the fact that it's an interesting composition and extremely well done especially for a beginner