PDA

View Full Version : New Gouache Painting

Old Tex
02-11-2007, 05:59 PM
8x10 from a photo in the reference library (Sorry, I didn't write down the name of the photographer.)

Did this during the weekend, and thought I'd share. This is my fourth attempt at painting, and boy am I excited. I'm having a ball!

meglyman
02-11-2007, 07:45 PM
Looks like you are learning the "chunky" aspects of gouache really well! I'm still learning which styles go best and... not so much... with gouache. This style looks great. I really like the bit of blue you put on the rim of his glasses.
Meg

Old Tex
02-11-2007, 08:32 PM
Thanks Meg. This is the way I wanted to paint, and it's kind of fun to see that it works. Now I have to wait until tomorrow to see how much is going to change after it dries completely. Went to your website, by the way. I think my favorite is Bugsy, and I like your gouache of Grandpa.

meglyman
02-12-2007, 06:27 PM
Thanks for looking! The two you named are two of the most recent, so it's encouraging! Your website also has some great stuff. I like Jumbo and your portraits and the cp roses... it's all great! Hope to see some of your gouaches up there soon.

Did your painting dry much different? Sometimes it seems to dry darker, sometimes lighter...

Meg

katsarecool
02-12-2007, 06:31 PM
I love this portrait very much. What a beautiful job you have done here. Awesome! I don't want to be picky but that beautiful back ground competes with the subject. Both are lovely but the man is incredible!

JamieWG
02-12-2007, 07:23 PM
I can't believe this is only your fourth attempt at painting and you pulled off a portrait like this! Wow! You've got some huge talent in there! Very nice job.

Jamie

Old Tex
02-12-2007, 11:15 PM
Thank you all!