PDA

View Full Version : Daves Place WIP:

tishtosh
02-08-2007, 02:25 PM
Hi guys,

After much deliberation i've decided its time to move on. Not from W.C, but from the comfort of my family home.

I started painting in the relative tranquility of our attic, but then my daughters fiance's weekend sleepovers in my attic became permanent sleepovers. So, i was cuckooed out of my studio by "the pigeon in the attic". ( 18 months later and he's still up there!)
Then i built a small lean-to on the side of our home about 7' by 7'. Great place to paint, until my wife decided the lean-to would make an excellent laundry room. Alas, the tumble dryer and freezer moved in and i was evicted for the 2nd time within a year. So, i set up residence in the conservatory. I've been there ever since but the constant nagging from the family that the "sun room" looks more like a "slum room" left me with little choice.
This Spring i intend to build a studio (shed) in the garden. Its time to sacrifice the castor oil plants, hostas and paeony roses in favour of my very own sanctuary. "Daves Place" will be 18 ft long and 8.5 foot wide with south/east facing windows and will be situated next to my garden pond, perhaps with a decking area outside for those warm summer days.
There'll be no pigeons, no laundry and no family! Only me, my paints and the odd glass of vino. Bliss!

Upon mentioning my elaborate plans to a work colleague, prices were discussed. Catalogue prices for decent ready built garden buildings of this size started at 3000 up to 10000+!!!
I commented that if i bought my own supplies i think i could build a very decent studio for under 400. My colleague, who disagreed,was very keen to issue that very challenge.
So, with a budget of 400 i've decided to give it a go.

The timber for the structural work has cost 60.40. The screws and bolts to put it together have been begged ,stealed and borrowed.