PDA

View Full Version : New to WC, new to casein

Light Seeker
02-08-2007, 11:08 AM
Hi everyone

Here is one of my first caseins, done while we 'babysat' my daughter's kitten George Michael over Christmas. The color in the original is richer. It was done on 8x10 canvas board (from WalMart no less!) with Shiva casein. This has been my most successful casein to date (out of about three). It is such a different technique from watercolor, which is all I have ever done until now. I got a Masterson's Sta-Wet palette that really works in keeping the paint from hardening over several days.
I have had a hard time with Shiva's Blue Deep and their Permasol Blue, both which contain phthalo blue (PB15) - they really stain my brushes! I've switched to their cobalt blue which is easier to handle.
Do any of you find that you have to wash your brush out in soap periodically as you paint? Maybe that is something I will just have to get used to.
I recently gave the Shiva casein emulsion a try, but I'm not sure what to think. Is it commonly used?
And what about the casein varnish? I understand that a dry painting buffs up nicely after it dries, which I tried and seemed to work. Is is worth using the varnish as well? Will it yellow over time?
Looking forward to your comments, critiques, and hopefully some answers!:) :cat:
Thanks

Cynthiahttp://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/08-Feb-2007/100096-George_Michael_color_corrected_reduced.jpg

dbclemons
02-08-2007, 04:33 PM
Very nice, Cynthia. The face looks great!