PDA

View Full Version : Paper for Lino prints?

NYIllustrator
04-16-2002, 05:22 PM
What is the best paper to use for a lino print? Im new to printmaking and thought it would be the next logical step from the scratchboard I do. I tried using a paper with a tooth on a lino cut awhile ago, but it didn't pick up the ink well.

sassybird
04-17-2002, 12:28 PM
It depends on whether you are hand rubbing, or putting it through a press. I have always preferred Rieves BFK Heavyweight for my lino cuts.

NYIllustrator
04-17-2002, 03:47 PM
I am hand rolling it. I was wondering though, Ive seen people who do a lino over a monoprint. What exactly is a monoprint? I saw that one guy did a landscape monoprint, but the lino over the monoprint i saw, looked like the monoprint in the backround were washes of color, like watercolour almost. Also is it better to use a bayer for lino or speedball tools? Sorry I have all these questions, but Im interested in getting into this and totally lost where to start.

NYIllustrator
04-17-2002, 04:00 PM
ok this was the person Im talking about. The girls dress is the monoprint on paper and than the black lino cut went over it. Im wondering how to do that type of monoprint. Any tips that you may have to guide me to how this style is done is appreciated.

http://www.salon.com/weekly/jetter.gif

Gisela
04-17-2002, 11:37 PM
Originally posted by NYIllustrator
What exactly is a monoprint...

...Also is it better to use a bayer for lino or speedball tools?

Timelady did a mini-lesson on monotype here ;
http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=25505

Here's an online video of the process ; (kind of cool)
http://nmaa-ryder.si.edu/collections/exhibits/monotypes/video.html

If you'd like to learn more about the many possiblities, check out Julia Ayers book, 'Monotype- Mediums and Methods for Painterly Printmaking' -- lots and lots of good info there!