PDA

View Full Version : Gathering

Poess
02-05-2007, 04:31 PM
This is the first time I've painted in close to 3 weeks. I went to a gallery around here, the first time I've done that, in the hopes maybe they would hang my art there. They basicly looked at me like I was crazy and said condescending things like "keep at it, you'll get better" and stuff like that. I know I just started painting, but I was really upset...I kinda get hurt easily..
anyway, I had a dry spell on painting for a while because of questioning my ability.....
but I'm back
I love painting and won't let what someone says stop me from doing what I love...I don't do it for them anyway, I do it for me.
blah, blah, blah...sorry about that
Here's the painting I did last night. It is 16 x 20. I'll attatch a few closeups too.
:)

Selahs art
02-05-2007, 04:38 PM
I like your paintings, maube you should just put more contrasts and shading in your figures.
Dont let them put you off.

Retha

Poess
02-05-2007, 04:40 PM
I'm not very good with contrast and shading people. I did work on it on this one tho...but the pic I took doesn't show it very well...
I think I will probably go back and darken some of my brush strokes.
Thanks for commenting!

dreamz
02-05-2007, 04:48 PM
we all have heard the same basic comments but don't let one gallery get you down, use the comments to grow. Try other galleries or look for juried shows/shops. The only way you'll improve is to paint, paint, paint. For shadows and skin tones try using a thinner paint (glaze) in layers.

One reason I don't like thumbnails is its so difficult top refer back to the picture!

You have a very good grasp of figures now just let the paint talk to you

chammi kaiser
02-05-2007, 04:53 PM