PDA

View Full Version : WIP x-post from Portraiture

Ian Bruce
02-04-2007, 06:20 PM
Some suggestions would be appreciated. How is the likeness doing? The background is at this point an approximate color scheme--it will be a tropical sky and sea, with the sea being shallow and green (inside the reef color). My friend Doug stopped by with a painting and we swopped critiques. He suggests that I should make the foreground a pinkish beach against the blue of the shirt, changing to the aqua green higher up, next to the face, and with a high horizon that puts the blue of the sky near the top of the painting. He is generally very good with color. I did think of changing the shirt color too, but the pinkish beach color may make that unnecessary. I started with a verdaccio, intending to simply finish the painting with transparent glazes (as an experiment, I am new to all this--acrylics esp.), but things changed and I went opaque. I lost my shapes and have just re-established the nose and right (his right) eye by drawing with a brush. I will have to remodel those areas. Any advice and comments at all would be much valued--any at all!
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/04-Feb-2007/64870-mod.jpg
This is the reference photo taken late in the afternoon on a overcast Maine day. I need to change the lighting to a tropical sun). PS--I know about the shoulders!
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/04-Feb-2007/64870-peter_crop_2-1.jpg

idcrisis55
02-04-2007, 07:36 PM
Ian, you have the base of a really good painting going here. I can't offer a critique but I'll be around to see how you finish this one.

Tazart
02-04-2007, 10:11 PM
OK grab big pinch of salt ;) as I really can only give my opinion which in no way resembles any proper art C&C .... but to my untrained eye, the painting certainly looks like the guy in the photo, his skin looks a little too red all over at the mo but I know it's a WIP so I'm sure you're not done there anyway....