PDA

View Full Version : How did you become an artist?

Roger Evans
01-31-2007, 08:09 AM
Kind of a vague way to ask the question but, what I mean is, what road led you to where you are now? The other thread about people's day jobs was so engrossing that I am interested in what others have to say about their journey to being an artist. I was asked this question on an animation forum years ago and, after giving it some thought, this is how I replied:

Since I started out as a cartoon animator, I guess I should really begin with how I ever became an artist, in the first place. After all, had I not become an artist, then I would not have been a cartoon animator and, logic stands to reason, I would not have made the move to stop motion and special effects.

So, here goes.

When I was in first grade, there was a coloring book with a big water oxen on the left hand page. Not only did I want to color that oxen, I wanted to take the picture home to show my parents; something that would be difficult since the coloring book belonged to the school. So, I grabbed a ubiquitous sheet of "vanilla paper" and, holding the coloring book up to the sunlit window, I traced the aforementioned aquatic bovine.

Once at my desk, I attacked the beast with my fully loaded Benny and Smiths, a different color stuffed between each knuckle. I was loaded for bear and REALLY getting into it when I felt a presence next to me. I looked up and my teacher asked,"Did you do that?" all the while pointing at my masterpiece. "Yes ma'am!" I answered proudly. She smiled approvingly and moved on down the row of desks. My moment of triumph was short lived as I suddenly remembered that I had TRACED the picture; I didn't actually DRAW it!

Okay, time out: