PDA

View Full Version : Help with hair!!

desktopflame
11-14-2005, 03:05 PM
I'm very new to drawing with coloured pencils (have been used to graphite) I am finding it quite hard to make the transition to colour but only where the hair is concerned! I have searched this forum but cannot find any tutorial on hair (apologies if I have missed it).
When drawing with graphite I draw the basic shape of the hair then start lightly and gradually build up the layers and pull out highlighted hairs with my kneadable eraser. I just cannot seem to do this with colour pencils though. I am thinking there is something big i am missing as I have been able to build up layers to make the skin a believable colour.
Is there anyone out there that can give me pointers on drawing hair in colour before I pull out my own hair!!

catchlight
11-14-2005, 04:03 PM
Well heres a quick little tutorial on blonde hair.

First I've put down some ivory, then leaving the ivory only in the spots where there'd be a highlight (in this case, the bend in the middle of the hair) I've next added some raw sienna or a light brown to either end of the hair strand. In the next one I've darkened those spots a little more, and then with a darker brown still in the second to last swatch. Then in the last one I've added some dark sepia to each end in a few strands to give that variegated look that hair has (remember it's made up of strands so they're all different shades) and I've added some terracotta to the point where the hair starts to turn lightest and a little sky blue to the highlight itself.

I'll have a go at one for brunette hair for you too :)

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/14-Nov-2005/57873-blonde_hair.jpg

catchlight
11-14-2005, 04:27 PM